EPPO Platform
on PRAs

Pest categorisation of Capsicum chlorosis virus


The EFSA Panel on Plant Health conducted a pest categorisation of Capsicum chlorosis virus (CaCV) for the EU territory. The identity of CaCV, a member of the genus Orthotospovirus (family Tospoviridae), is established and reliable detection and identification methods are available. The pathogen is not included in the EU Commission Implementing Regulation 2019/2072. 

CaCV has been reported in Australia, China, India, Iran, Taiwan, Thailand and USA (Hawaii). In the EU, it has been reported once in Greece (Crete Island). The NPPO of Greece reported that CaCV is no longer present in Greece. CaCV infects plant species in the family Solanaceae (i.e. pepper, tomato) and several species of other families, including ornamentals. It may induce severe symptoms on its hosts, mainly on leaves and fruits, which may become unmarketable. 

The virus is transmitted in a persistent propagative mode by the thrips Ceratothripoides claratris, Frankliniella schultzei, Microcephalothrips abdominalis and Thrips palmi. C. claratris and T. palmi are EU quarantine pests. M. abdominalis is known to be present in several EU member states and it is not regulated in the EU. 

Plants for planting, parts of plants, fruits and cut flowers of CaCV hosts, and viruliferous thrips were identified as the most relevant pathways for the entry of CaCV into the EU. Cultivated and wild hosts of CaCV are distributed across the EU. 

Should the pest enter and establish in the EU territory, impact on the production of cultivated hosts is expected. Phytosanitary measures are available to prevent entry and spread of the virus in the EU. 

CaCV fulfils the criteria that are within the remit of EFSA to assess for it to be regarded as a potential Union quarantine pest.


  • Ceratothripoides claratris
  • Frankliniella schultzei
  • Microcephalothrips abdominalis
  • Orthotospovirus capsiciflavi
  • Thrips palmi


  • Capsicum
  • Solanum lycopersicum


Type File Size
Pest Risk Analysis Link to file

PRA Area

  • EU
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden