EPPO Platform
on PRAs

Pest categorisation of Grapholita inopinata


The EFSA Panel on Plant Health (PLH) performed a pest categorisation of Grapholita inopinata, (Lepidoptera: Tortricidae), the Manchurian fruit moth, for the territory of the EU. G. inopinata is a well‐defined species that is recognised as a major pest of Malus spp. in Far East Russia, Eastern Siberia and northern China. G. inopinata is less common in Japan where it is not a serious pest. G. inopinata is not known to occur in the EU. G. inopinata is listed in Annex IIAI of 2000/29 EC as a harmful organism regulated on Cydonia, Malus, Prunus and Pyrus from non‐European countries. Adult G. inopinataemerge in the summer, mate and lay eggs on host leaves and fruit. Larvae burrow into the fruit to develop. Larvae exit fruit and overwinter under bark, under leaf litter or in the soil. Import of host fruit provides a potential pathway into the EU. Restrictions on the import of host plants for planting close other potential pathways. G. inopinata occurs in a range of climates in Asia, some of which also occur in the EU. Wild and commercially grown hosts are available within the EU. G. inopinata has the potential to establish within the EU. There could be one or two generations per year as in its native range. Impacts could occur in pome fruit orchards. The level of impacts would be uncertain. Phytosanitary measures are available to reduce the likelihood of introduction of G. inopinataG. inopinata meets all the criteria assessed by EFSA PLH to satisfy the definition of a Union quarantine pest. G. inopinata does not meet the criteria of occurring within the EU, nor plants for planting being the principal means of spread, so does not satisfy all the criteria for it to be regarded as a Union regulated non‐quarantine pest (RNQP).


  • Grapholita inopinata


  • Malus


Type File Size
Pest Risk Analysis Link to file

PRA Area

  • EU
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden