EPPO Platform
on PRAs

EPPO PRA for Tetranychus evansi


Both the PRA record and the PRA report are available. 

Although T. evansi has already entered the EPPO region, the probability of entry is considered to be low and the likelihood of entry with the pathways identified is low 

Probability of establishment = High

Greatest risk of establishment is in the Mediterranean part of the EPPO region but also under protected cultivation.

The most significant economic damage has been recorded in Africa where yield losses are noted. In EPPO countries where the pest is present it does not cause important economic damage, and outbreaks are mainly recorded outside. It is suspected that the glasshouse environment in EPPO countries, including control regimes and cultivars grown, differ from those in Africa. One plausible explanation for the lack of T. evansi infestation in protected conditions (screen houses and green houses) in the EPPO countries where it is present could be host plant resistance of the tomato cultivars grown in this area. Nevertheless an outbreak in organic farming protected cultivation has recently been detected with a high level of economic damage. In such situation major disruption of biological control programmes could be expected


  • Tetranychus evansi


  • Solanaceae
  • Solanum lycopersicum


Type File Size
Pest Risk Analysis Download 301,21kB
Pest Risk Analysis Download 136,07kB

PRA Area

  • EPPO
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Guernsey
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jersey
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tunisia
  • Türkiye
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • Uzbekistan