EPPO Platform
on PRAs

Express PRA for Sinoxylon anale


Sinoxylon anale is native in India and a polyphagous wood-boring beetle which is classified as a quarantine pest in Hawaii, Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay. Up to now, it did not establish in Europe. However, in Israel it was able to establish despite immediate burning of infested trunks. Up to now the pest is neither listed in the Annexes of Directive 2000/29/EG nor at EPPO. The beetle infests at least 70 tropical deciduous trees and various wooden products like sawn wood, tree trunks, storage-wood. Particularly wooden packaging could be an intercontinental pathway for the beetle. The beetle can occur abundantly in infested areas and is able to destroy wood to a great extent. For Europe, there are no studies on the potential threat for native tree species and the hibernation ability up to now. The relevant tree species in India do not occur outdoors in Europe and it is not clear if native tree species might be infested. It can also be presumed that the beetle would not be able to establish due to unsuitable climate conditions in Germany and the EU. These conclusions are not secure, though. Based on this risk analysis – and until further notice - there is no reason to presume that Sinoxylon anale would be able to establish in Germany or other Member States and to cause damage. However, the certainty of this risk assessment is low and in either case it must be considered that the presence of S. anale possibly could be traced back to an inadequate treatment according to ISPM 15.


  • Sinoxylon anale


  • Acacia auriculiformis
  • Acacia mangium
  • Acaciella glauca
  • Anacardium occidentale
  • Dalbergia latifolia
  • Delonix regia
  • Hevea brasiliensis
  • Koompassia malaccensis
  • Lablab purpureus
  • Macrotyloma uniflorum
  • Shorea robusta
  • Terminalia bellirica
  • Vachellia tortilis


Type File Size
Pest Risk Analysis Download 128,77kB

PRA Area

  • EU
  • Germany
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden