EPPO Platform
on PRAs

Update of the Xylella spp. host plant database – systematic literature search up to 31 December 2021


This Scientific report provides an update of the Xylella spp. host plant database, aiming to provide information and scientific support to risk assessors, risk managers and researchers dealing with Xylella spp. Upon a mandate of the European Commission, EFSA created and regularly updated a database of host plant species of Xylella spp. The current mandate covers the period 2021–2026. This report is related to the sixth version of the database published in Zenodo in the EFSA Knowledge Junction community, covering literature published from 1 July 2021 up to 31 December 2021, and recent Europhyt outbreak notifications. Informative data have been extracted from 29 selected publications. Eleven new host plants were identified and added to the database: six plant species naturally infected by subsp. multiplex of X. fastidiosa in the EU (France, Italy and Portugal) and five plant species artificially infected by different X. fastidiosa subspecies (multiplexpaucafastidiosa and sandyi). No additional data were retrieved for X. taiwanensis. New information on the tolerant/resistant response of plant species to X. fastidiosa infection were added, while no new STs have been identified worldwide compared to the previous update published in January 2022. The overall number of Xylella spp. host plants determined with at least two different detection methods or positive with one method (between: sequencing, pure culture isolation) reaches now 412 plant species, 190 genera and 68 families. Such numbers rise to 664 plant species, 299 genera and 88 families if considered regardless of the detection methods applied.


  • Xylella
  • Xylella fastidiosa
  • Xylella taiwanensis


Type File Size
Other Link to file

PRA Area

  • EU
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden