EPPO Platform
on PRAs

Scientific Opinion on the pest categorisation of Xanthomonas axonopodis pv. phaseoli and Xanthomonas fuscans subsp. fuscans


The European Commission requested the EFSA Panel on Plant Health to perform a pest categorisation for Xanthomonas campestris pv. phaseoli. In reaching its conclusions, the Panel considered four parameters to be of critical importance in the risk assessment area: (i) the presence and distribution of X. campestris pv. phaseoli in the risk assessment area and its potential for spread; (ii) the existence and the distribution of the main host plants throughout the European Union (EU); (iii) the potential for damage to crops grown in Europe; and (iv) the implementation of pest control strategies and cultural measures. The organisms formerly identified as X. campestris pv. phaseoli have proven to be genetically diverse and are currently known as Xanthomonas fuscans subsp. fuscans and Xanthomonas axonopodis pv. phaseoli. Based on its analysis, the Panel concluded that the identity of these pathogens is clearly defined and their distribution involves limited areas or regions in the EU, although with a medium uncertainty. The main dispersal pathway for these pathogens is contaminated seeds. In addition, the Panel noted that host plants are widely cropped throughout the EU, common bean Phaseolus vulgaris being of  great commercial importance, not only for consumption—fresh, canned, deep frozen and dried—but also for the seed industry. Currently, the impact of common bacterial blight is limited in the EU as a consequence of seed testing. Finally, the Panel concluded that moderate to high consequences, in terms of yield and quality losses, are expected for beans, especially if weather conditions are conducive to disease and seed inoculum no longer contained.


  • Xanthomonas citri pv. fuscans
  • Xanthomonas phaseoli pv. phaseoli


Type File Size
Pest Risk Analysis Link to file

PRA Area

  • EU
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden