EPPO Platform
on PRAs

Pest categorisation of Eotetranychus sexmaculatus


The EFSA Panel on Plant Health performed a pest categorisation of Eotetranychus sexmaculatus (Acari: Tetranychidae), the six-spotted spider mite, for the EU. The mite is native to North America and has spread to Asia and Oceania. It is not known to occur in the EU. The species is not listed in Annex II of Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/2072. E. sexmaculatus feeds on more than 50 hosts in 20 botanical families and can be a serious pest of important crops in the EU such as citrus (Citrus spp.), avocado (Persea americana), grapevine (Vitis spp.) and ornamentals such as Ficus spp. and Rosa spp. In California and New Zealand, the mite can breed continuously on evergreen hosts such as avocados and citrus, growing slowly during the winter and faster during the summer. Dry weather conditions hamper its development. Plants for planting, fruit, cut branches and cut flowers provide potential pathways for entry into the EU. Some host plants for planting are prohibited from entering the EU while others require a phytosanitary certificate, as do cut branches and cut flowers. In the warmer parts of southern EU Member States, climatic conditions and host plant availability are conducive for establishment and spread. The introduction of E. sexmaculatus is expected to have an economic impact in the EU through the reduction in yield, quality and commercial value of citrus and avocado production. Additional damage on other host plants, including ornamentals, under EU environmental conditions and cropping practices cannot be ruled out. Phytosanitary measures are available to reduce the likelihood of entry and spread. E. sexmaculatus satisfies with no key uncertainties the criteria that are within the remit of EFSA to assess for it to be regarded as a potential Union quarantine pest. 


  • Eotetranychus sexmaculatus


Type File Size
Pest Risk Analysis Link to file

PRA Area

  • EU
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden