EPPO Platform
on PRAs

Pest categorisation of Aulacaspis tubercularis


The EFSA Panel on Plant Health performed a pest categorisation of Aulacaspis tubercularis (Hemiptera: Diaspididae), the white mango scale, for the EU. 

A. tubercularis is a tropical species that originates from Asia but is now established in several tropical and subtropical regions throughout the world. It also occurs within the EU and is established in Italy, Portugal and Spain. A. tubercularis is not listed in Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/2072. 

It is polyphagous, feeding on plants in more than 37 genera in 23 families and is most frequently reported on mango (Mangifera indica). Indeed, it is considered one of the key pests of mango crops around the world. No evidence was found indicating damage to crops other than mango. A. tubercularis is established in southern Spain (Andalusia) with four overlapping generations and two population peaks, one in summer and another in autumn. Andalusia is the main mango producing area of the EU and A. tubercularis can cause losses through downgrading of fruit. The main natural dispersal stage is the first instar, which crawls over the host plant or may be dispersed further by wind and animals.

Plants for planting and fruits provide potential pathways for further entry and spread. Climatic conditions and availability of host plants in southern EU countries are conducive for establishment. Phytosanitary measures are available to reduce the likelihood of further entry and further spread. 

A. tubercularis satisfies the criteria that are within the remit of EFSA to assess for it to be regarded as a potential Union quarantine pest.


  • Aulacaspis tubercularis


  • Mangifera indica


Type File Size
Pest Risk Analysis Link to file

PRA Area

  • EU
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden