EPPO Platform
on PRAs

Pest categorisation of Citripestis sagittiferella


The EFSA Panel on Plant Health performed a pest categorisation of the citrus pulp borer, Citripestis sagittiferella (Lepidoptera: Pyralidae), for the EU. 

This oligophagous species, which feeds on Citrus spp., occurs in Southeast Asia, mostly in lowlands but can also be found up to 1,200 m above sea level. Adults oviposit on citrus fruit at any stage of the fruit development. Larvae feed in the fruit then abandon it to pupate in the soil within an earthen cocoon. C. sagittiferella is multivoltine in its native range. This species is not included in EU Commission Implementing Regulation 2019/2072. 

Potential entry pathways for C. sagittiferella, such as Citrus spp. plants for planting with foliage and soil/growing medium, and soil/growing medium by themselves can be considered as closed. The citrus fruit pathway remains open for countries where C. sagittiferella is known to occur. Indeed, this species was intercepted several times in the UK during the last decade. Hosts of C. sagittiferella are available (Citrus spp.) in the southern EU. The EU has climatic conditions that are also found in countries where C. sagittiferella occurs although it is unknown whether C. sagittiferella occurs in those areas. Economic impact in citrus production is anticipated if establishment and spread occur. 

C. sagittiferella satisfies the criteria that are within the remit of EFSA to assess for this species to be regarded as a potential Union quarantine pest. There is uncertainty about the climatic requirements of this species, which may hamper its establishment in the EU.


  • Citripestis sagittiferella


  • Citrus
  • Citrus hystrix
  • Citrus maxima
  • Citrus medica
  • Citrus reticulata
  • Citrus x aurantiifolia
  • Citrus x aurantium
  • Citrus x aurantium var. paradisi
  • Citrus x aurantium var. sinensis
  • Citrus x limon


Type File Size
Pest Risk Analysis Link to file

PRA Area

  • EU
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden