EPPO Platform
on PRAs

Identification of a potential pathway of the exotic black weevil (Coleoptera: Curculionidae) in South Korea


Kim S, Lee SW, Suh S-J. (2022) Identification of a potential pathway of the exotic black weevil (Coleoptera: Curculionidae) in South Korea. Insecta Mundi 0926: 1–5.

The black weevil, Aclees taiwanensis Kôno (Coleoptera: Curculionidae), is one of the primary pests of fig trees in southeastern Asia and southern Europe. Thought to be of subtropical and tropical Asian origin, including China, the weevil was first found in southern areas of South Korea in July 2020. Subsequently, it was found in the following five cities: Haenam, Hampyeong, Jindo, Sinan, and Tongyeong (RDA 2020). Attempts to trace a possible pathway for the exotic black weevil suggested that this species probably followed pathways of illegal importation of infested plants from Taiwan and was unintentionally introduced into South Korea based on analysis of a Pest Information System (PIS) database, a phylogenetic analysis of mitochondrial cytochrome c oxidase subunit I gene (COI) sequences data, and interviews with fig growers. In addition, this exotic weevil could expand to other regions of South Korea since proper control methods for this weevil pest have not yet been developed and some fig trees are cultivated using eco-friendly farming practices. Therefore, constant monitoring will be required for the invasive alien weevil species which seriously damages the trunk of fig trees.


  • Aclees taiwanensis


  • Ficus


Type File Size
Pest Risk Analysis Download 6,10MB

PRA Area

  • EPPO
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Guernsey
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jersey
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tunisia
  • Türkiye
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • Uzbekistan