EPPO Platform
on PRAs

PRA for Thaumatotibia leucotreta


Both the PRA and the report of PRA are available. 

Expert working group in 2011-11 and 2012-06, review by core members and EPPO Panels in 2012-2013. This PRA supported the addition of the pest to the EPPO A2 List in 2013.

The pest is a pest of major crops in the EPPO region (e.g. Citrus) specific control programmes will have to be established if introduced. 

The pest can be present on imported commodities but the risk of entry is mainly dependent on the success of transfer.  

The climate is suitable in part of the PRA area and hosts present. The pest has already been introduced into Israel. Outdoors conditions are suitable in areas near the Mediterranean coast in North Africa (Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia), the Near East (Israel and Jordan) and Europe (Spain, Italy (Sicily), Malta, Cyprus and southern Greece), together with Portugal, the Canary Islands and the Azores. Establishment is less likely in protected cultivation where control of the pest is more likely to be effective including periods with no host production (stopping production during a given period). 

Because commodities of host fruits are traded within the region the EWG considered that the rate of spread was high (but it should be noted that as for entry a transfer to suitable hosts needs to occur for the pest to establish further away). 

The whole area of potential establishment is at risk of short term major economic impact (long term moderate). Environmental and social impacts are likely to be minor.

2021: The PRA documents were modified to clarify the phytosanitary measures recommended


  • Thaumatotibia leucotreta


  • Capsicum
  • Citrus
  • Gossypium
  • Litchi chinensis
  • Macadamia
  • Mangifera indica
  • Persea americana
  • Prunus persica
  • Psidium guajava
  • Punica granatum
  • Quercus robur
  • Ricinus communis
  • Rosa
  • Solanum melongena
  • Vitis vinifera
  • Zea mays


Type File Size
Pest Risk Analysis Download 2,89MB
Pest Risk Analysis Download 353,58kB

PRA Area

  • EPPO
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Guernsey
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jersey
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tunisia
  • Türkiye
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • Uzbekistan