EPPO Platform
on PRAs

EPPO PRA for Bactrocera latifrons


Overall assessment of risk: B. latifrons is a fruit fly native to South-East Asia which has spread to Africa, Hawaii and to new areas within Asia. It is mostly a pest of Solanaceae, although it also attacks some Cucurbitaceae and is reported on a few hosts in other families. 

B. latifrons infests only fruits. Entry is considered possible, especially on fruit of Solanaceae, but also Cucurbitaceae, Mangifera indica and Psidium guajava. Spread is expected to be by both natural means and by trade in fruit (or plants carrying fruit). B. latifrons is a strong flyer and this would facilitate the finding of suitable hosts. The risk of entry is higher if fruit is imported close to production sites and private gardens, and fruiting hosts are available. In some parts of its current distribution, it has an impact on Capsicum, but so far it has had only minor impacts in areas where it was introduced (Hawaii, southern Japan, Tanzania, Kenya). In comparison with other Bactrocera spp. such as B. dorsalis, reported damage is lower. 

Phytosanitary Measures to reduce the probability of entry: Risk management options were determined for host fruit (e.g. Capsicum, Lycianthes, Solanum and Physalis), and plants for planting of cultivated hosts with fruit.


  • Bactrocera latifrons


  • Benincasa hispida
  • Capsicum
  • Capsicum annuum
  • Capsicum chinense
  • Capsicum frutescens
  • Citrullus lanatus
  • Citrus x aurantiifolia
  • Coccinia grandis
  • Cucumis melo
  • Cucumis sativus
  • Physalis peruviana
  • Punica granatum
  • Solanum aculeatissimum
  • Solanum aethiopicum
  • Solanum anguivi
  • Solanum lycopersicum
  • Solanum melongena
  • Solanum torvum
  • Ziziphus mauritiana
  • Ziziphus nummularia


Type File Size
Pest Risk Analysis Download 862,02kB

PRA Area

  • EPPO
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Guernsey
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jersey
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tunisia
  • Türkiye
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • Uzbekistan