EPPO Platform
on PRAs

Commodity risk assessment of Juglans regia plants from Turkey


The European Commission requested the EFSA Panel on Plant Health to prepare and deliver risk assessments for commodities listed in Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/2019 as ‘High risk plants, plant products and other objects’. This Scientific Opinion covers the plant health risks posed by 2-year-old grafted bare rooted plants for planting of Juglans regia imported from Turkey, taking into account the available scientific information, including the technical information provided by Turkey. The relevance of any pest for this Opinion was based on evidence following defined criteria. Two EU quarantine pests, Anoplophora chinensis and Lopholeucaspis japonica, and three pests not regulated in the EU, two insects (Garella musculana, Euzophera semifuneralis) and one fungus (Lasiodiplodia pseudotheobromae), fulfilled all relevant criteria and were selected for further evaluation. For these pests, the risk mitigation measures proposed in the technical dossier from Turkey were evaluated by considering the possible limiting factors. For these pests, an expert judgement was given on the likelihood of pest freedom taking into consideration the risk mitigation measures acting on the pests, including uncertainties associated with the assessment. While the estimated degree of pest freedom varied among pests, Lasiodiplodia pseudotheobromae was the pest most frequently expected on the commodity. The expert knowledge elicitation indicated, with 95% certainty, that 9,554 or more grafted bare rooted plants per 10,000 will be free from Lasiodiplodia pseudotheobromae.


  • Anoplophora chinensis
  • Euzophera semifuneralis
  • Garella musculana
  • Juglans regia
  • Lasiodiplodia sp.
  • Lopholeucaspis japonica


  • Juglans regia


Type File Size
Pest Risk Analysis Link to file

PRA Area

  • EU
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden